Ruby Radio

Listen and fall in Love

How Old Is Ryan’S Toys Review?

How Old Is Ryan
Ryan Kaji was born on October 6, 2011. He began his YouTube career when he was three and became one of the highest-earning YouTubers in the world when he was 10. With the help of his parents, he began posting simple videos of himself on his YouTube channel, unboxing and reviewing toys and gadgets.

Why was Ryan’s mom in jail?

His mother, then known as Kieu-Loan Thi Nguyen, was arrested for shoplifting in 2002. Ryan’s current annual income has nothing to do with the choices his mother made seventeen years ago when she was a teenager just out of high school. Is it normal for a dad to wear his daughter’s shirts and take money from her wallet?

Is that Ryan’s real parents?

Background – Ryan Kaji was born on October 19, 2011, to immigrants Shion and Loann Kaji. Kaji’s father, Shion, is originally from Japan and his mother, Loann, is a refugee from Vietnam. The two met at Texas Tech University. Kaji has twin sisters, Emma and Kate, who, along with his parents, participate in his YouTube videos.

  • When he was only three and a half years old, Kaji noticed kids appearing on other toy review channels and asked his mother why he wasn’t featured on videos as well.
  • In March 2015, he began making his own YouTube videos, and eventually, his mother decided to quit her teaching job to work on their channel full-time.

Formerly known as “Ryan’s Toys Review,” the children’s YouTube channel is now known as “Ryan’s World” and targets children aged two to six. As per the channel format, a new video is released almost every day and involves Kaji excitedly unboxing and reviewing a toy or gadget.

  1. The video content has since expanded to experiments and education.
  2. As of April 2021, the channel has over 32 million subscribers, is one of the 10 most subscribed YouTube channels in the U.S., and has gathered over 51 billion views for its videos.
  3. In 2018 and 2019, Forbes named Kaji’s channel the highest-earning YouTube channel, making $22 million from his videos and $26 million from his product lines.

From 2017 onwards, Ryan’s World expanded its collaborations and portfolio with many deals and sponsorships. Kaji’s parents struck a deal with PocketWatch, a children’s media company, to handle the marketing and merchandise for the YouTube channel. In 2018, Ryan Toys Review launched an app called “Tag with Ryan,” targeted toward children.

The same year, Kaji announced a line of toys under the same branding in cooperation with PocketWatch and Bonkers Toys. Next year, they released a 20-episode television series titled “Ryan’s Mystery Playdate.” In November 2019, Outright Games released a video game on four major gaming platforms titled “Race with Ryan,” featuring Kaji and characters from his brand.

Piggin Boogers Family Fun Games for Kids Yucky Boogers Slime Egg Surprise Toys Cry Baby Sour Candy

In November 2020, a hybrid live-action and animated series titled “Super Spy Ryan” was released on Amazon Kids. The following month, it was announced that an official game would be launched on the gaming platform Roblox. Outright Games released a second Ryan’s World licensed video game in March 2022.

Did Ryan mom go to jail?

Mom of Ryan Kaji, star of Ryan ToysReview, once jailed for shoplifting Published: 19:01 BST, 12 September 2019 | Updated: 21:40 BST, 12 September 2019 The mother of Ryan Kaji, 7, who earned $22 million last year through his YouTube channel ‘Ryan ToysReview’, is a convicted criminal who was jailed for shoplifting.

  • His wife, who is credited for creating the lucrative YouTube channel, is former high school chemistry teacher Loan Guan, 35.
  • Loan divides her time managing the family’s four companies and caring for Ryan and his two-year-old twin sisters Emma and Kate at their sprawling $1 million six bedroom home in a gated community in Cypress.
  • The 6,200 squarefoot house with a large swimming pool is just one of three properties the Guans own in the area.
  • They also own a 5-bedroom, 5 bathroom house worth $1 million in a nearby gated community and a more modest $190,000 three-bedroom home they purchased in 2014.

Loan Guan (left and center), 35, and Shion Guan (far right), 31, of Cypress, Texas, are the parents of of Ryan Haruto Guan (center), better known as Ryan Kaji, YouTube’s top earning star. On May 4, 2003, Loan – then known as Kieu-Loan Thi Nguyen – was arrested for breaching a probation order which had been imposed in 2002 when she had been caught stealing clothing at JC Penney departent store in Almeda Mall, Houston The Guans’ ‘Ryan’s World’ brand- which includes toothpaste, mandarin oranges, television shows and video games – earned the family $22 million last year.

Here, Ryan is promoting his range of toys at Walmart Their son’s toy review videos have been watched more than 30 billion times, making him YouTube’s highest-earning entrepreneur and most-powerful influencer. With 80 brands licensed in his family’s ‘Ryan’s World’ empire- including toothpaste, mandarin oranges, television shows and video games – Forbes financial magazine has calculated the family earned $22 million in 2018.

But a DailyMail.com investigation can reveal, before ‘Ryan’s World’ earned her millions, Loan almost ruined her life when she was caught stealing. Born in April 1984, Kieu-Loan Thi Nguyen, the daughter of Vietnamese immigrants, grew up in Houston, Texas, and was known to her friends as Loan.

On June 28, 2002, the then 18-year-old University of Houston student was caught shoplifting at a JC Penney department store in Houston’s Almeda Mall, close to her family home. Security staff found Loan had tried to steal six items of clothing totaling $93. They detained her until Houston police arrived to arrest and charge her.

Harris County Criminal Court in Houston could have jailed her for 60 days – the maximum sentence for a class B misdemeanor – but were initially lenient with Loan when they saw her a week later on July 5. Ryan Haruto, then aged one, poses with his parents Loan and Shion Guan in October 2012 They fined her $150 and gave her a non-custodial sentence, placing her on six months probation.

She was ordered to carry out 40 hours community service and submit to random urine tests. She was also given an offender identification card which she had to carry at all times and take part in an anti-shoplifting program. But Loan had other plans. She chose not to report to a community supervisor, carry out community service or pay supervising fees.

On May 4, 2003, police from the City of Pearland, a suburb of Houston, arrested Loan for breaching the probation order. On June 6, Loan was back at Harris County Criminal Court and this time sentenced to 60 days in prison at Houston’s Harris County Jail.

  1. After leaving jail, Loan decided to become a teacher and enrolled at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas.
  2. It was through mutual friends there that, in September 2009, she met Shion Guan, almost four years her junior and studying civil engineering after moving to Texas from Japan.
  3. Shion had been popular with his fellow Texas Tech students, spending his free time with them playing computer games and the card game ‘Magic: The Gathering’.
See also:  How Long Does It Take Tinder To Review Your Account?

The family lives in a six-bedroom home in Cypress, Texas, 25 miles northwest of Houston, which regularly features in their videos. It is worth an estimated $1 million Shion Guan, 31, who drives an $80,000 Porsche Macan GTE3 SUV to and from the large production studio the family bought for $1.2 million in 2017 in the Houston suburbs The Guans also own a 5-bedroom, 5 bathroom house worth $1 million in a gated community close to their main home in Cypress, Texas They also own a more-modest $190,000 three-bedroom home they purchased in 2014 close to Cypress, Texas The Guans bought this large production studio for $1.2 million in 2017 in the Houston suburbs which is where their son Ryan’s content is made By November 2009 Shion and Loan were inseparable.

  1. The couple stayed together despite Loan graduating from the university in 2010 with a bachelor’s degree in arts and sciences.
  2. On September 27, 2011, their son Ryan Haruto Nguyen was born.
  3. Loan gained a Texas educator certificate in April 2012 and became a high school chemistry teacher.
  4. She also became certified to teach English as a second language.

Meanwhile Shion, after getting his degree at Texas Tech, studied transportation system engineering at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, where he earned a master’s degree in engineering. With his new degree in hand, he returned to Houston in 2013 and married Loan on August 10 that year.

  1. He then began work as a structural engineer.
  2. Loan is credited with seeing the potential in making money from YouTube after watching videos by reviewer EvanTubeHD.
  3. In March 2015, the family created the YouTube channel Ryan ToysReview, featuring their then three-year-old son unboxing and reviewing toys.

One post, four months after launching, shows Ryan reviewing an easter egg from the Pixar film ‘Cars’. It has now been seen 980 million times. The channel soon became so popular Loan left her teaching job to work full-time producing the videos. Love at first sight: Shion Guan (left) met his bride-to-be Loan (right) in September 2009 at this Texas Tech University party By November 2009, Shion Guan and Loan were inseparable.

  • The couple stayed together despite Loan graduating from the university in 2010 with a bachelor’s degree in arts and sciences.
  • On September 27, 2011, their son Ryan Haruto Nguyen was born By September 2016, the channel had become the most-popular in the US, with 4 million subscribers and its videos having been watched 6.5 billion times.

Revenue generated from YouTube varies but for popular channels, YouTube will pay channels $7 per 1,000 clicks. Loan is credited with seeing the money-making potential of setting up a YouTube channel hosted by her son Ryan

  • At this time, Forbes made Ryan the eighth-highest-paid YouTube entrepreneur, generating $11 million in revenue through 2016.
  • In 2017, Ryan’s parents went to court for an order adjudicating parentage so their son could officially use his father’s last name, Guan.
  • Because he had been born before his parents married, under Texan law he had to use his mother’s maiden name Nguyen.
  • He officially became Ryan Haruto Guan on April 27, 2017 after Shion testified being his father.

The Guan family’s fortunes jumped even further later that year when they signed a deal with brand licensing company Pocket.watch, based in Culver City, California, to market ‘Ryan’s World’ products. Currently boasting seven YouTube channels and 30 million subscribers, the family has 80 deals through Pocket.watch.

Colgate has released a range of ‘Ryan’s World Kids Oral Care’ products, Walmart is selling Ryan’s World Pajamas and ‘Ryan’s World’ mandarin oranges are also being sold. The Guan family has 80 deals through brand licensing company Pocket.watch, including a range of ‘Ryan’s World Kids Oral Care’ products from Colgate Fast food chain Carl’s Jr sells Ryan’s Star Pal Kid’s Meal Toys Pocket.watch, which has 60 people employed for the Guan family, has also done deals to create magazine Ryan’s World Ultimate Guide and the traditional television show Ryan’s Mystery Playdate on Nick Jr.

Fast food chain Carl’s Jr sells Ryan’s Star Pal Kid’s Meal Toys while ‘Race With Ryan’, a kart racing video game, will be released on Xbox One and Nintendo Switch in November. Court documents show Loan was sentenced to 60 days in prison on June 6, 2003 for failing to carry out community service for shoplifting On Monday, it was announced consumer watchdog Truth in Advertising had filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission against the channel ‘Ryan ToysReview’.

  • Loan served 30 days at Harris County Jail in Houston Truth in Advertising said the channel, whose viewership is mostly children under-five, did not make it clear enough that some of the toys being featured were made by advertisers.
  • The Federal Trade Commission has not yet responded but Shion Guan released a statement.

He said, ‘The well-being of our viewers is always our top priority. Creating content that is safe and appropriate for our young viewers and their families is very important to us.

  1. ‘We strive to provide quality, engaging content including skits, family challenges, science experiments, cartoon animations and more.
  2. ‘We strictly follow all platforms’ terms of service and all existing laws and regulations, including advertising disclosure requirements.
  3. ‘As the streaming space continues to quickly grow and evolve, we support efforts by lawmakers, industry representatives, and regulators such as the FTC to continuously evaluate and update existing guidelines and lay new ground rules to protect both viewers and creators.’

THE RYAN’S WORLD BRANDED EMPIRE CONSISTS OF: YOUTUBE CHANNELS :

  • Ryan ToysReview (21.4 million subscribers)
  • Ryan’s Family Review (4.6 million subscribers)
  • The Studio Space (1.24 million subscribers)
  • Combo Panda (1.09 million subscribers)
  • VTubers (877,000 subscribers)
  • Gus the Gummy Gator (827,000 subscribers)
  • EK Doodles (250,000 subscribers)

MAGAZINES & BOOKS:

  • Ryan’s World Magazine (through UK-based publisher Egmont)
  • Ryan’s World Amazing Sticker Scenes (Egmont)
  • Ryan’s World Ultimate Guide (Egmont)

TELEVISION:

Ryan’s Mystery Playdate (Nick Jr.)

VIDEO GAME:

Race with Ryan (Outright Games)

FAST FOOD TOYS:

Star Pal Kid’s Meal Toys (Carl’s Jr)

FRUIT:

Mandarin Oranges (Wonderful Halos)

BRANDED GOODS:

  • Ryan’s World Kids Oral Care (Colgate)
  • Ryan’s World Target Exclusive Mega Mystery Treasure Chest (Target)
  • Ryan’s World Exclusive Super Surprise Safe (Walmart)
  • Ryan’s World Duvet Cover
  • Ryan’s World Giant Floor Puzzle
  • Ryan’s World Pajamas
  • Ryan’s World Cushion
  • Ryan’s World Collectible Figures
  • Ryan’s World Mystery Egg

: Mom of Ryan Kaji, star of Ryan ToysReview, once jailed for shoplifting

Why were Ryan’s parents fired?

How Old Is Ryan Exclusive ‘I WAS REAL ANGRY’

Published : 12:51 ET, Aug 26 2021 Updated : 12:51 ET, Aug 26 2021

TEEN Mom OG star Ryan Edwards has revealed he was fired from the hit MTV show after clashing with producers over an American flag. Ryan, 33, and his family were let go from the reality TV series after tensions with his ex Maci Bookout and her husband, Taylor McKinney, boiled over. How Old Is Ryan 5 Ryan Edwards has revealed a nasty fight with MTV producers before his family was fired from Teen Mom OG Credit: Coleman-Rayner How Old Is Ryan 5 Ryan and wife Mackenzie have been speaking out about their life since leaving the show Credit: Coleman-Rayner The Edwards clan was let go following a blowout fight between Ryan’s dad Larry and Taylor during last season’s reunion special. But now The Sun can exclusively reveal tensions were already running high between the show’s producers and Ryan before that.

  • He claimed the last straw for him came when he found out that they had taken down a US flag on his front porch, as production said it was “in their way.” Ryan told The Sun: “What got me is when they took my flag down off the porch.
  • They laid it on the ground and when I went down to pick it up they told me it was in their shot.
See also:  How To Write A Review Essay?

“I got real angry because it was an American flag and they said it was in their way. I said ‘Either put it back on the post or leave’ and that was the last time they ever came back, I guess.” Ryan added that he and Mackenzie were contemplating leaving the show before the firing.

Who is Bree from Ryan’s world?

Last updated: March 20, 2022 Website www.youtube.com/breeessrig

Breeana Danielle ” Bree ” Essrig (born April 21, 1990) is an OnlyFans model and an American actress, writer, host, and internet personality, known for her comedic writing and appearances on the (now defunct) news and current events series SourceFed,

What did Ryan’s mom do before Ryan’s world?

Loann Kaji is a manager of her son’s YouTube channels and associated businesses. She gained public attention for being the mother of Ryan Kaji, an American renowned YouTube celebrity kid. How Old Is Ryan Social media sensation posing for a photo. Photo: @loannkaji Source: Instagram What is known about the mom of Ryan’s world ? Loann worked as a chemistry teacher at a high school before starting a YouTube channel, Ryan’s World, that starred her 3-year-old son, Ryan. She also helps her son to create content on the channel.

What is the Ryan’s World controversy?

The Particular Hell of Ryan’s World Ryan Kaji may be the most controversial 8-year-old alive. Since the first video of Kaji testing out a new toy was uploaded to YouTube in 2015, his — first called Ryan’s Toy Review; now called — has acquired more than 24 million YouTube subscribers and become the cornerstone of a shockingly lucrative kidfluencer empire.

In 2019, Forbes named Kaji the highest earning YouTube streamer of any age for the second year in a row, estimating that his family raked in and from advertising, their branded toys clothes and home goods, a partnership with Nickelodeon, and other sponsorship deals. Ryan’s World videos are a particular type of Internet hell.

They include science instructions, personal family vlogs, footage from family trips, and woefully unfunny “skits” about the parents’ office antics. But the heart of the channel is the, where Kaji opens and reacts to new toys. The videos where he opens giant eggs filled with unknown varieties of toys from brands like and are among his most popular —his video of opening a -themed egg has over a billion views and he so thoroughly conquered the surprise toy egg space that major retailers sell today.

  1. But he doesn’t just open eggs.
  2. He test rides, spins and,
  3. M any kids find Kaji’s authentic-seeming wonderment and delight with new toys hypnotic and relatable and often,
  4. His influence isn’t lost on toy companies searching for social media boosts for their products.
  5. Herein lies the real trouble.
  6. Ryan’s World toy reviews mix organic and sponsored content.

And the non-profit consumer watchdog group believes they don’t sufficiently distinguish between the two. In late 2019, accused the Kajis of violating FTC law, saying their sponsored videos have deceived millions of young children, who’re unable to tell the difference between advertising and organic content.

The TINA complaint is the most high-profile criticism of Ryan’s World but it’s not alone. The channel’s emphasis on novelty-driven consumerism has left many parents ranging from uneasy to annoyed to seething with rage. To offer a nuanced perspective about the problems with Ryan’s World, we asked legal, media and childhood development experts as well as two (very) frustrated parents to weigh in.

Here’s what they said. The Issues with Ryan’s World, According to an Advertising Watch Dog We looked into Ryan’s Toys Review, which is now called Ryan’s World, as it was the most popular YouTube channel for kids at the time. It has 24 million subscribers and now has more than 36 billion views, which really speaks to the breadth of the issue.

  1. We realized there were videos that appeared to be organic content mixed with videos that were promotional.
  2. And it was really hard to tell the difference.
  3. We went through every single video that the platform published between January 1st and I believe it was July 31st of last year.
  4. So that was more than 200 videos.

We found that the overwhelming majority of those videos were targeted to preschoolers. That age bracket is important because there is scientific literature, there’s research studies that say that kids in that age don’t even understand what ads are. They can’t identify them and they don’t understand when they’re being marketed to.

Which is a problem. So the recommendation to disclose that it’s an ad audibly or in any other way doesn’t work for this audience. This company, these parents, are using their own child to market to other kids. And while adults are seeing the videos and ultimately making the purchases, the intended audience are these little kids.

And there’s research that shows that despite best efforts, parents buy the toys their kids ask for. — Legal Director at Truth in Advertising Ryan’s World, According to Children’s Media Expert and Pediatrician These unboxing videos, I kind of think of them as consumer porn.

  1. It’s this vicarious surprise and excitement of opening something.
  2. Most toys today actually diminish or narrow the child’s input.
  3. The narratives are pre-ordained.
  4. We are narrowing the imagination and creativity of childhood by having the toys do more and more.
  5. Ids watching these videos learn that what makes people happy is getting stuff.

I call it consumer porn because the delight and joy is in the unveiling, the unwrapping, and the unboxing, saying “Oh, look what I have!” But it’s a very ephemeral, fleeting moment because you’re then onto the next thing and the next thing and the next.

  1. It’s about the surprise and discovery.
  2. And it’s a discovery not of something that stimulates their imagination or creativity, but channels it into this preordained story.
  3. It’s a whole different thing to play with Barbie and her Corvette and to have a bucket and a shovel and sand on the feet.
  4. One comes with a whole narrative, a whole environment, a whole set of values and cultural perspective, that is pre-digested and fed to you.
See also:  Why Is My Yelp Review Not Recommended?

The other is the world, right? They want to homogenize these experiences because it really is all about merchandising. It is about brand awareness, brand loyalty, et cetera. Because the point of getting one Barbie is to convince them to get five more. Virtually every video on YouTube, including unboxing videos, is very carefully designed by psychologists to be a variable reward system.

The same way that when you go and gamble in Vegas you get frustrated just enough. If it takes a while to unbox it, you’re frustrated by not knowing what’s there and then you get this dopamine surge of excitement when whatever it is comes out. And that’s gold to merchandisers. They allow children not to have to defer gratification.

They are instantly gratified or they’re gratified in a predictably short period of time. It’s like the old fashioned marshmallow test where they put one marshmallow in front of a kid and say don’t eat this and I’ll be back in 10 minutes and give you two marshmallows to see how well kids are able to keep from eating the marshmallow.

  • What these do is shoot marshmallows at you at a rapid rate.
  • You don’t have to wait.
  • You don’t have to defer.
  • You just consume and what you see ultimately is an attenuation of the surprise and the pleasure.
  • It’s just too easy.
  • There’s no resistance.
  • There’s no waiting, there’s nothing you have to put into it.

—, director of Boston Children’s Hospital’s Center on Media and Child Health and associate professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School Ryan’s World, According to a Media Psychologist Unboxing videos are a new thing. And every time we get a new technology, we have a moral panic.

  • This always happens when something is unknown.
  • We want to protect society and certainly our young from something that’s potentially dangerous.
  • And this is a natural reaction because stuff we don’t understand is more likely to be dangerous than stuff that we already figured out.
  • I think part of the reason that parents don’t like them, speaking from my own experience, is that they are annoying to listen to.

They’re made by kids for kids. They have kids’ voices. There are kids not behaving particularly well. They’re screaming, they’re running, they’re laughing. It’s very authentic. These are little narratives. They have a beginning, a middle and an end. There’s always the ramping up the rising action and the question of “Oh my God, what’s in it? Can we get it open? Can I get the plastic off? Is it going to be any good?” And then they get it out.

And so you get that neural reward. Dopamine flies when you open the thing. And then some of them and the good ones will then say, okay, how do we play with this? Because what the kids are really interested in is the experience they’re relating to the emotion. When they see the same person all the time, they develop affection for that person.

So they get to know Ryan and my God, Ryan started when he was four. When someone that your brain views as a friend recommends something or has a good time with something, that makes that seem like a pretty good idea. Like with all media, it’s the job of the parents to provide context for kids.

Rather than saying to kids “This is terrible. You shouldn’t watch this,” say “Let’s watch this together” and “What is it that you like about it? Did you know that Ryan gets paid for showing you that toy? And what does that mean? If he’s getting paid, do you think he’d say he didn’t like it?” You have these little conversations with them, so they start to develop some critical thinking about the media they’re consuming.

They may still love to watch Ryan, but it gives you a framework. When they want a toy, you can ask where they learned about it and remind them that that he’s paid to sell that toy. I don’t know why parents assume that kids should be consuming all this stuff unsupervised.

  1. You don’t send them out to play anything else completely unsupervised.
  2. You provide them context about stranger danger and say ‘don’t eat gum off the sidewalk’ and explain stuff to them.
  3. This is just another place kids need context.
  4. Director of the and a psychology faculty member of Fielding Graduate University.

“Ryan’s World”, According to Two Very Frustrated Parents Becky My 4-year-old son used to be addicted to watching Ryan until I pulled the plug. I gave him this old iPad just to keep him entertained while I was busy. I downloaded this YouTube app for kids.

  1. The one show that he kept begging to have was Ryan.
  2. And I was like, who’s that? I sat down and watched it with him and I was just appalled because there’s just all these new toys that kids get every single show.
  3. It never shows him playing with the same toys.
  4. It’s really excessive.
  5. It teaches all this consumerism to kids and I didn’t like it.

And what really got me just floored was when Ryan had this shirt with all these company logos. I couldn’t believe it. He’s only like eight years old, I think. He’s a little child. I couldn’t do it to my kid. Like, my kid is really photogenic. He’s a very beautiful child, you know? He asked a couple times to have his own videos and I just wouldn’t do that.

  • I just don’t know how they sleep at night.
  • It gets me really fired up.
  • Marcus I noticed an uptick in this behavior where every time he goes to a store, he wants something.
  • Because he’s like, “Oh, there’s stuff here.
  • And I see other kids getting a new thing every day, all the time.
  • And why can’t I have that?” There’s no thought to what kind of long term impact that’s going to have on how they live their life.

I see something that I want and everybody else can have it at no cost to them, why can’t I have it at no cost to me? I should be able to have everything I ever want. And you can’t live that way. — and Marcus Beach, Arlington, TX

What does Shion Kaji do for a living?

What Do His Parents Do for a Living? – Before Ryan was even a thought, his parents worked as professionals. Both Shion and Loan attended Texas Tech University in Lubbock, TX. They two met each other while in school. After graduation, Loan became a high school chemistry teacher, and Shion worked as a structural engineer.